Personalizing Navigation

In addition to customizing your personal "My Polarion" home page you can personalize Navigation to make it quick and easy to access the project content you most need to work with right now. Please refer to the following figure:

Figure 3.2. Navigation Panel Sections

Navigation Panel Sections

Sections of the Navigation panel and New Shortcut dialog

The panel contains two sections of navigation links. The first section is for your "Favorites". Favorites are personal links to project content that are only accessible when you are working in the project. (This is different from User Shortcuts, which are accessible from anywhere you may be working in the portal.) Favorites enable you to create quick, easily-accessed Navigation links to any project content you need to work with most frequently. If your needs change, you can remove Favorites and add new ones to Navigation. For example, if you are working on a requirements specification Document, you can create a Favorite that will take you right to it. If there are some Wiki pages you need to refer to while working on the specification, you can create Favorites for them as well. Then later, if you switch to working on a test case specification, you can add a Favorite for that, optionally removing other Favorites if you no longer need them frequently.

Initially, the Favorites section may be populated with default shortcuts pre-configured in the project template on which your project is based. If you don't need these default shortcuts, you can easily remove them. See Modifying Favorites.

The second section contains the portal topics that are currently accessible to you. By default this section is collapsed and shows only those topics currently "pinned". Pinned topics show when the topics list is collapsed. The Documents and Pages topic and the Work Items topic are pinned by default.

You can further customize your Navigation panel by pinning some topics and unpinning others. Hover your pointer above a topic and click the Pin icon. Keep in mind that the topics that appear in the expanded list depend on several factors including the product license you are using and the interface view configuration, which controls what topics appear in the list when an interface view is active.

Creating a New Favorite

To create a new Favorite shortcut:

  1. In the project where you want to create the new Favorite, navigate to the content you want to access with it. If it is a specific Work Item, be sure to open the item itself. If you just select it in a Work Item view (Table, for example) the shortcut will lead to the view, not to the item.

  2. In Navigation, click the star icon (see above figure). The New Shortcut dialog opens.

  3. Optionally change the default Favorite name in the Name field.

  4. Leave the default item Favorite selected in the Type field.

  5. Optionally select a different icon from the icon library, then click the Add button to create the new Favorite.

Modifying Favorites

You can modify the content of the Favorites section. You can:

  • Remove existing Favorites. Note that you cannot remove the Home shortcut that leads to the project Home page.

  • Change the order of existing Favorites using the buttons.

  • Rename and change a Favorite's icon by clicking the Edit button.

  • Reset your shortcuts to the original defaults.

To manage Favorites:

  1. Open the Navigation Tool view. (Click the on the upper left).

  2. Click Manage Shortcuts. The Manage Shortcuts dialog opens.

    Figure 3.3. Manage Shortcuts Dialog

    Manage Shortcuts Dialog

  3. If the Favorites tab is not already selected, click on it to select it. A list of current Favorite shortcuts appears in the tab.

  4. Select a Favorite in the list. (Other than the Home shortcut.)

  5. Click Remove to remove a selected Favorite.

    Click the buttons to move a selected shortcut up or down the list.

    Click Reset to revert to the default shortcuts.

    Click Cancel to cancel changes.

    Click Save to save changes.

TIP

You can reset your user interface to the original state (the state when you logged in for the first time) on your user account page. (This restores display of confirmation dialogs if you turned it off.)